Search for Jackson County, GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jackson County Marriage License 85 Washington Street Jefferson GA 30549 706-367-6366
Arcade City Hall 3325 Athens Hwy Jefferson GA 30549 706-367-5500
Braselton City Clerk 4982 Highway 53 Braselton GA 30517 706-654-3915
Braselton Town Hall 4982 Highway 53 Braselton GA 30517 706-654-3915
Commerce City Clerk 27 Sycamore Street Commerce GA 30529 706-335-3164
Commerce City Hall 27 Sycamore Street Commerce GA 30529 706-335-3164
Hoschton City Hall 79 City Square Street Hoschton GA 30548 706-654-3034
Jackson County Clerk 67 Athens Street Jefferson GA 30549 706-367-6312
Jackson County Health Department 341 Stan Evans Drive Jefferson GA 30549 706-367-5204
Jackson County Health Department 623 South Elm Street Commerce GA 30529 706-335-3895
Jefferson City Hall 147 Athens Street Jefferson GA 30549 706-367-5121
Maysville City Hall 226 North Main Street Maysville GA 30558 706-652-2274
Nicholson City Hall 175 Lakeview Drive Nicholson GA 30565 706-757-3408
Pendergrass Clerk 75 Glenn Gee Rd Pendergrass GA 30567 706-693-2494
1. Apply where: County Probate Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included
4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: Indefinitely
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Jackson County, Georgia?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?
The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jackson County?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.