Search for Cobb County, GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cobb County Marriage License 32 Waddell Street SE Marietta GA 30090 770-528-1931
Acworth City Hall 4400 Senator Russell Avenue Acworth GA 30101 770-974-2032
Acworth Clerk 4408 Acworth Industrial Drive Northwest Acworth GA 30101 770-974-0965
Austell City Hall 2716 Broad Street Austell GA 30106 770-944-4319
Cobb County Clerk 100 Cherokee Street Northeast Marietta GA 30060 770-528-3309
Kennesaw City Hall 2529 J O Stephenson Avenue Northwest Kennesaw GA 30144 770-424-8274
Kennesaw Clerk 2529 J O Stephenson Avenue Northwest Kennesaw GA 30144 770-424-8274
Marietta City Clerk 205 Lawrence Street Northeast Marietta GA 30060 770-794-5526
Marietta City Hall 205 Lawrence Street Northeast Marietta GA 30060 770-794-5530
Powder Springs City Hall 4484 Marietta St Powder Springs GA 30127 770-943-1666
Smyrna City Clerk 200 Village Green Circle Southeast Smyrna GA 30080 770-319-5303
Smyrna City Hall 2800 King Street Southeast Smyrna GA 30080 770-434-6600
1. Apply where: County Probate Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included
4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: Indefinitely
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Cobb County, Georgia?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?
The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cobb County?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.