Clayton County Marriage Licenses

Search for Clayton County GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Clayton County Marriage License 121 South McDonough Street Jonesboro GA 30236 770-477-3301


Clayton County Clerk 112 Smith Street Jonesboro GA 30236 770-477-4550

Clayton County Health Department 1117 Battle Creek Road Jonesboro GA 30236 678-610-7199

Forest Park City Hall 745 Forest Parkway Forest Park GA 30297 404-366-4720

Jonesboro City Hall 124 North Avenue Jonesboro GA 30236 770-478-3800

Lake City City Hall 5455 Jonesboro Road Morrow GA 30260 404-366-8080

Riverdale City Hall 6690 Church Street Riverdale GA 30274 770-997-8989

Riverdale Clerk 6690 Church Street Riverdale GA 30274 770-991-0462

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included

4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: Indefinitely

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid

Questions/Answers about Clayton County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Clayton County, Georgia?

You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?

The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.

How old do you have to be to get married in Clayton County?

You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.