Search for Chatham County, GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Chatham County Marriage License 133 Montgomery Street Savannah GA 31401 912-652-7267
Quitman County Marriage License Main Street, Courthouse Georgetown GA 31754 912-334-2224
Chatham County Clerk 124 Bull Street Savannah GA 31401 912-652-7875
Chatham County Clerk 100 Central Avenue Garden GA 31405 912-966-7770
Chatham County Health Department 2512 Habersham Street Savannah GA 31401 912-651-2943
Chatham County Health Department 1602 Drayton Street Savannah GA 31401 912-651-3378
Pooler City Hall 100 U.s. 80 Pooler GA 31322 912-748-7261
Port Wentworth City Hall 305 South Coastal Highway Port Wentworth GA 31407 912-964-4379
Quitman County Clerk PO Box 7 Georgetown GA 39854 229-334-2224
Sarasota County Health Department 2011 Eisenhower Drive Savannah GA 31406 912-353-5177
Savannah City Hall # 2, 2 E Bay St Savannah GA 31401 912-651-6510
Savannah Clerk 2 East Bay Street Savannah GA 31401 912-651-6441
Tybee Island City Hall 403 Butler Avenue Tybee Island GA 31328 912-786-4573
1. Apply where: County Probate Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included
4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: Indefinitely
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Chatham County, Georgia?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?
The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.
How old do you have to be to get married in Chatham County?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.