Search for Stanislaus County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Stanislaus County Marriage License 1021 I Street Modesto CA 95354 209-525-5250
Hughson City Hall 7018 PINE St Hughson CA 95326 209-883-4054
Modesto City Clerk 1010 10th Street Modesto CA 95354 209-577-5396
Modesto City Hall 1010 10th Street Modesto CA 95354 209-577-5200
Newman City Hall 1162 Main Street Newman CA 95360 209-862-3725
Oakdale City Hall 280 North 3rd Avenue Oakdale CA 95361 209-845-3571
Patterson City Hall 420 South 4th Street Patterson CA 95363 209-895-3215
Riverbank City Hall 6707 3rd Street Riverbank CA 95367 209-869-7101
Stanislaus County Clerk 101 I Street Modesto CA 95351 209-525-5211
Stanislaus Health Department 2760 3rd Street Ceres CA 95307 209-541-2474
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Stanislaus County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Stanislaus County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.