Search for Sonoma County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sonoma County Marriage License La Plaza West Building, 2300 County Center Drive, Suite B-177 Santa Rosa CA 95403 707-565-3800
Cloverdale City Hall 124 North Cloverdale Boulevard Cloverdale CA 95425 707-894-2521
Cotati City Hall 201 West Sierra Avenue Cotati CA 94931 707-792-4600
Healdsburg City Hall 401 Grove Street Healdsburg CA 95448 707-431-3300
Petaluma City Clerk 11 English Street Petaluma CA 94952 707-778-4360
Petaluma City Hall 11 English Street Petaluma CA 94952 707-778-4362
Rohnert Park City Clerk 130 Avram Avenue Rohnert Park CA 94928 707-588-2227
Rohnert Park City Hall 130 Avram Avenue Rohnert Park CA 94928 707-588-2200
Santa Rosa City Clerk 100 Santa Rosa Avenue Santa Rosa CA 95404 707-543-3016
Santa Rosa City Hall 100 Santa Rosa Avenue Santa Rosa CA 95404 707-543-3010
Santa Rosa County Clerk 3200 County Center Drive Santa Rosa CA 95403 707-565-3700
Sebastopol City Hall 7120 Bodega Avenue Sebastopol CA 95472 707-823-7865
Sonoma City Hall 1 The Plaza Sonoma CA 95476 707-938-3681
Sonoma County Clerk 2300 County Center Drive Santa Rosa CA 95403 707-565-3800
Sonoma County Health Department 3313 Chanate Road Santa Rosa CA 95404 707-565-4711
Windsor Town Clerk 9291 Old Redwood Highway Windsor CA 95492 707-838-5311
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Sonoma County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sonoma County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.