Search for Santa Cruz County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Santa Cruz County Marriage License 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz CA 95060 831-454-2060
Capitola City Hall 420 Capitola Avenue Capitola CA 95010 831-475-7300
San Juan Bautista City Hall 311 2nd Street Watsonville CA 95076 831-623-4661
Santa Cruz City Hall 809 Center Street Santa Cruz CA 95060 831-420-5030
Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz CA 95060 831-454-2060
Scotts Valley City Clerk 1 Civic Center Drive Scotts Valley CA 95066 831-440-5602
Scotts Valley City Hall 1 Civic Center Drive Scotts Valley CA 95066 831-440-5602
Watsonville City Hall 231 Union Street Watsonville CA 95076 831-768-3240
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Santa Cruz County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Santa Cruz County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.