Search for Santa Clara County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Santa Clara County Marriage License 70 West Hedding Street @ First St., E. Wing, 1St Floor San Jose CA 95110 408-299-5688
California State Clerk 840 Guadalupe Parkway San Jose CA 95110 408-808-6262
California State Health Department 100 Paseo De San Antonio San Jose CA 95113 408-277-1784
Campbell City Clerk 70 North 1st Street Campbell CA 95008 408-866-2117
Campbell City Hall 70 North 1st Street Campbell CA 95008 408-866-2100
Cupertino City Hall 10300 Torre Avenue Cupertino CA 95014 408-777-3200
Gilroy City Clerk 7351 Rosanna Street Gilroy CA 95020 408-846-0204
Gilroy City Hall 7351 Rosanna Street Gilroy CA 95020 408-846-0400
Los Altos City Hall 1 North San Antonio Road Los Altos CA 94022 650-947-2700
Los Altos Hills Town Hall 26379 Fremont Road Los Altos Hills CA 94022 650-941-7222
Milpitas City Clerk 455 East Calaveras Boulevard Milpitas CA 95035 408-586-3001
Milpitas City Hall 455 East Calaveras Boulevard Milpitas CA 95035 408-586-3000
Morgan Hill City Hall 17555 Peak Avenue Morgan Hill CA 95037 408-779-7271
Mountain View City Hall 500 Castro Street Mountain View CA 94041 650-903-6332
Palo Alto City Hall 250 Hamilton Avenue Palo Alto CA 94301 650-329-2100
San Jose City Hall 200 East Santa Clara Street San Jose CA 95113 408-535-3500
Santa Clara City Hall 1500 Warburton Avenue Santa Clara CA 95050 408-615-2200
Santa Clara County Clerk 70 West Hedding Street San Jose CA 95110 408-299-2481
Santa Clara County Health Department 1650 Las Plumas Avenue San Jose CA 95133 408-272-6726
Santa Clara County Health Department 80 Highland Avenue San Martin CA 95046 408-683-4697
Santa Clara County Health Department 577 Salmar Avenue Campbell CA 95008 408-874-5000
Saratoga City Clerk 13777 Fruitvale Ave Saratoga CA 95070 408-868-1269
Saratoga City Hall 13777 Fruitvale Ave Saratoga CA 95070 408-868-1200
South County Health Department 1215 1st Street Gilroy CA 95020 408-686-2360
Sunnyvale City Clerk 603 All America Way Sunnyvale CA 94086 408-730-7483
Sunnyvale City Hall 650 W Olive Ave Sunnyvale CA 94086
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Santa Clara County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Santa Clara County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.