Search for Santa Barbara County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Santa Barbara County Marriage License 1100 Anacapa Street Santa Barbara CA 93101 805-568-2250
Santa Barbara County Marriage License 401 East Cypress Avenue Lompoc CA 93436 805-737-7705
Santa Barbara County Marriage License Santa Maria, 511 E. Lakeside Parkway, Suite 115 Santa Maria CA 93455 805-346-8370
Buellton City Hall 107 West Highway 246 Buellton CA 93427 805-686-0137
Carpinteria City Hall 5775 Carpinteria Avenue Carpinteria CA 93013 805-684-5405
Goleta City Hall 130 Cremona Drive Goleta CA 93117 805-961-7500
Guadalupe City Hall 918 Obispo Street Guadalupe CA 93434 805-343-1340
Lompoc City Clerk 100 Civic Center Plaza Lompoc CA 93436 805-875-8242
Lompoc City Hall 100 Civic Center Plaza Lompoc CA 93436 805-736-1261
New Cuyama Health Department 4711 California 166 New Cuyama CA 93254 661-766-2558
Santa Barbara City Hall 735 Anacapa Street Santa Barbara CA 93101 805-963-0611
Santa Barbara County Clerk 1100 Anacapa Street Santa Barbara CA 93101 805-568-2250
Santa Barbara County Clerk 312 East Cook Street Santa Maria CA 93454 805-614-6414
Santa Barbara County Clerk 401 East Cypress Avenue Lompoc CA 93436 805-737-7705
Santa Barbara County Health Department 2115 Centerpointe Pkwy Santa Maria CA 93455 805-346-8410
Santa Barbara County Public Health Department 300 North San Antonio Road Santa Barbara CA 93110 805-681-5100
Santa Clara County Health Department 300 N San Antonio Rd Santa Barbara CA 93110 805-681-5375
Santa Maria Clerk 511 Lakeside Parkway Santa Maria CA 93455 805-346-8370
Solvang City Hall 1644 Oak Street Solvang CA 93463 805-688-5575
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Santa Barbara County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Santa Barbara County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.