Search for San Mateo County CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
San Mateo County Marriage License 555 County Center Redwood CA 94063 650-363-4500
Atherton City Hall 91 Ashfield Road Atherton CA 94027 650-752-0500
Belmont City Clerk 1 Twin Pines Lane Belmont CA 94002 650-595-7413
Belmont City Hall 1 Twin Pines Ln Belmont CA 94002 650-595-7413
Brisbane City Hall 50 Park Place Brisbane CA 94005 415-508-2100
Burlingame City Hall 501 Primrose Road Burlingame CA 94010 650-558-7200
California Health Department 150 North Hill Drive Brisbane CA 94005 415-330-6353
Colma Town Hall 1198 El Camino Real Colma CA 94014 650-997-8300
Daly City City Hall 333 90th Street Daly CA 94015 650-991-8000
Daly City Clerk 333 90th Street Daly CA 94015 650-991-8078
Half Moon Bay City Hall 501 Main Street Half Moon Bay CA 94019 650-726-8270
Hillsborough Town Hall 1600 Floribunda Avenue Hillsborough CA 94010 650-375-7400
Menlo Park City Hall 701 Laurel Street Menlo Park CA 94025 650-330-6610
Millbrae City Clerk 621 Magnolia Avenue Millbrae CA 94030 650-259-2332
Millbrae City Hall 621 Magnolia Avenue Millbrae CA 94030 650-259-2334
Portola Valley Town Hall 765 Portola Road Portola Valley CA 94028 650-851-1700
Redwood City City Hall 1017 Middlefield Rd Redwood CA 94063 650-780-7000
Redwood City Clerk 1017 Middlefield Road Redwood CA 94063 650-780-7220
San Bruno City Hall 567 El Camino Real San Bruno CA 94066 650-616-7058
San Carlos City Hall 600 Elm Street San Carlos CA 94070 650-802-4100
San Mateo City Clerk 330 West 20th Avenue San Mateo CA 94403 650-522-7040
San Mateo City Hall 330 West 20th Avenue San Mateo CA 94403 650-522-7999
San Mateo County Clerk 555 County Center Redwood CA 94063 650-363-4500
San Mateo County Health Department 225 37th Avenue San Mateo CA 94403 650-573-2541
South San Francisco City Hall 400 Grand Avenue South San Francisco CA 94080 650-877-8500
Woodside Town Hall 2955 Woodside Road Woodside CA 94062 650-851-6790
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in San Mateo County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in San Mateo County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.