Search for San Luis Obispo County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
San Luis Obispo County Marriage License 1055 Monterey St., Rm. D120 San Luis Obispo CA 93408 805-781-5080
San Luis Obispo County Marriage License Marriage License Issuing Office, 6565 Capistrano Avenue, (2Nd Flr. Atascadero Library Atascadero CA 93422 805-461-6041
Arroyo Grande City Hall 215 East Branch Street Arroyo Grande CA 93420 805-544-9570
Atascadero City Hall 6907 El Camino Real Atascadero CA 93422 805-461-5000
California Health Department 10333 El Camino Real Atascadero CA 93422 805-468-2000
Grover Beach City Hall 154 South 8th Street Grover Beach CA 93433 805-473-4568
Morro Bay City Hall 595 Harbor Street Morro Bay CA 93442 805-772-6200
Morro Bay Clerk 595 Harbor Street Morro Bay CA 93442 805-772-6200
Paso Robles City Clerk 1000 Spring Street Paso Robles CA 93446 805-237-3960
Paso Robles City Hall 1000 Spring Street Paso Robles CA 93446 805-237-3888
Pismo Beach City Clerk 760 Mattie Road Pismo Beach CA 93449 805-773-7003
Pismo Beach City Hall 760 Mattie Road Pismo Beach CA 93449 805-773-4657
San Luis Obispo City Hall 990 Palm Street San Luis Obispo CA 93401 805-781-7100
San Luis Obispo Clerk 990 Palm Street San Luis Obispo CA 93401 805-781-7100
San Luis Obispo County Clerk 1055 Monterey Street San Luis Obispo CA 93408 805-781-5080
San Luis Obispo County Clerk 5955 Capistrano Avenue Atascadero CA 93422 805-461-6041
San Luis Obispo Health Department 5575 Capistrano Avenue Atascadero CA 93422 805-461-6050
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in San Luis Obispo County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in San Luis Obispo County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.