Search for San Joaquin County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
San Joaquin County Marriage License 44 East 2nd Street Stockton CA 95206 209-468-3939
Lathrop City Hall 15707 5th Street Lathrop CA 95330 209-941-7380
Lodi City Clerk 221 West Pine Street Lodi CA 95240 209-333-6702
Lodi City Hall 221 West Pine Street Lodi CA 95240 209-333-6702
Manteca City Clerk 1001 West Center Street Manteca CA 95337 209-239-8417
Manteca City Hall 1001 West Center Street Manteca CA 95337 209-239-8400
Ripon City Hall 259 North Wilma Avenue Ripon CA 95366 209-599-2108
San Joaquin County Clerk 44 North San Joaquin Street Stockton CA 95202 209-468-2630
San Joaquin County Health Department 1145 North Hunter Street Stockton CA 95202 209-468-3280
San Joaquin County Health Department 205 West 9th Street Tracy CA 95376 209-831-5930
Satellite City Hall 5308 Pacific Avenue Stockton CA 95207 209-937-8096
Tracy City Hall 333 Civic Center Drive Tracy CA 95376 209-831-6000
Tracy Clerk 333 Civic Center Drive Tracy CA 95376 209-831-6000
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in San Joaquin County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in San Joaquin County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.