Search for Sacramento County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sacramento County Marriage License 600 8th Street Sacramento CA 95814 916-874-6334
California State Health Department 1615 Capitol Avenue Sacramento CA 95814 916-440-7600
Citrus Heights City Hall 6237 Fountain Square Drive Citrus Heights CA 95621 916-725-2448
Elk Grove City Hall 8401 Laguna Palms Way Elk Grove CA 95758 916-683-7111
Folsom City Hall 50 Natoma Street Folsom CA 95630 916-355-7210
Galt City Hall 380 Civic Drive Galt CA 95632 209-366-7130
Isleton City Hall 101 2nd Street Isleton CA 95632 916-777-7770
Laguna Town Hall 3020 Renwick Avenue Elk Grove CA 95758 916-684-7550
Rancho Cordova City Hall 2729 Prospect Park Drive Rancho Cordova CA 95670 916-851-8810
Sacramento City Hall 915 I Street Sacramento CA 95814 916-264-5011
Sacramento County Clerk 600 8th Street Sacramento CA 95814 916-874-7855
Sacramento County Health Department 7805 Auburn Boulevard Citrus Heights CA 95610 916-969-2724
Sacramento County Health Department 7001 East Parkway Sacramento CA 95823 916-875-5881
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Sacramento County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sacramento County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.