Search for Nevada County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Nevada County Marriage License County Clerk-Recorder, 950 Maidu Avenue Suite 210 Nevada CA 95959 530-265-1221
Grass Valley City Hall 125 East Main Street Grass Valley CA 95945 503-274-4314
Nevada City Hall 317 Broad Street Nevada CA 95959 530-265-2496
Nevada County Clerk 950 Maidu Avenue Nevada CA 95959 530-265-1298
Nevada County Health Department Ste 110, 500 Crown Point Cir Grass Valley CA 95945 530-265-7264
Nevada County Health Department 10075 Levon Avenue Truckee CA 96161 530-550-2309
Truckee Town Clerk 10183 Truckee Airport Road Truckee CA 96161 530-582-2924
Truckee Town Hall 10183 Truckee Airport Road Truckee CA 96161 530-582-7830
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Nevada County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Nevada County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.