Search for Monterey County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monterey County Marriage License 168 West Alisal Street Salinas CA 93901 831-755-5450
Monterey County Marriage License Monterey County Clerk, County Gov'T Admin. Building, 168 West Alisal Street, 1St Floor Salinas CA 93901
Carmel City Hall MONTE VERDE St Carmel-by-the-Sea CA 93921 831-620-2000
Gonzales City Hall 147 4th Street Gonzales CA 93926 831-675-5000
Greenfield City Clerk 599 El Camino Real Greenfield CA 93927 831-674-5591
Greenfield City Hall 45 El Camino Real Greenfield CA 93927 831-674-5591
King City City Hall 212 South Vanderhurst Avenue King CA 93930 831-385-3281
Marina City Clerk 211 Hillcrest Avenue Marina CA 93933 831-384-3715
Marina City Hall 211 Hillcrest Avenue Marina CA 93933 831-884-1278
Monterey City Hall 735 Pacific Street Monterey CA 93940 831-646-3765
Monterey County Clerk 168 West Alisal Street Salinas CA 93901 831-755-5066
Monterey County Health Department 620 Broadway Street King CA 93930 831-386-6899
Monterey County Health Department 1200 Aguajito Road Monterey CA 93940 831-647-7654
Monterey County Health Department 951 Blanco Circle Salinas CA 93901 831-784-2150
Pacific Grove City Hall 300 Forest Avenue Pacific Grove CA 93950 831-648-3100
Salinas City Hall 200 Lincoln Avenue Salinas CA 93901 831-758-7381
Seaside City Clerk 440 Harcourt Avenue Seaside CA 93955 831-899-6202
Seaside City Hall 440 Harcourt Avenue Seaside CA 93955 831-899-6700
Seaside Health Department 1942 Fremont Boulevard Seaside CA 93955 831-393-3251
Soledad City Hall 248 Main Street Soledad CA 93960 831-678-3963
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Monterey County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monterey County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.