Search for Marin County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Marin County Marriage License Marin County Civic Center Rm. 234, 3501 Civic Center Drive San Rafael CA 94903 415-473-6772
Corte Madera Town Hall 300 Tamalpais Drive Corte Madera CA 94925 415-927-6725
Fairfax Town Hall 142 Bolinas Rd Fairfax CA 94930 415-453-1584
Larkspur City Hall 400 Magnolia Avenue Larkspur CA 94939 415-927-5110
Marin County Clerk 3501 Civic Center Drive San Rafael CA 94903 415-473-7215
Marin County Health Department 920 Grand Avenue San Rafael CA 94901 415-499-6849
Mill Valley City Clerk 26 Corte Madera Avenue Mill Valley CA 94941 415-388-4033
Mill Valley City Hall 26 Corte Madera Avenue Mill Valley CA 94941 415-388-4033
Novato City Clerk 75 Rowland Way Novato CA 94945 415-899-8280
Novato City Hall 75 Rowland Way Novato CA 94945 415-897-4311
Ross Town Hall 31 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard Ross CA 94957 415-453-1453
San Anselmo Town Hall 525 San Anselmo Avenue San Anselmo CA 94960 415-258-4600
San Rafael City Clerk 1400 5th Avenue San Rafael CA 94901 415-485-3070
San Rafael City Hall 1400 5th Ave San Rafael CA 94901 415-485-3407
Sausalito City Hall 420 Litho Street Sausalito CA 94965 415-289-4100
Tiburon Town Hall 1505 Tiburon Boulevard Belvedere CA 94920 415-435-7373
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Marin County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Marin County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.