Search for Kern County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kern County Marriage License 1115 Truxtun Avenue Bakersfield CA 93301 661-868-3743
Arvin City Hall 200 Campus Drive Arvin CA 93203 661-854-3134
Arvin Health Department 204 South Hill Street Arvin CA 93203 661-854-5411
Bakersfield City Hall 1600 Truxtun Avenue Bakersfield CA 93301 661-326-3767
California City City Hall 21000 Hacienda Boulevard California CA 93505 760-373-8661
Delano City Hall 1015 11th Avenue Delano CA 93215 661-721-9985
Delano Clerk 1015 11th Avenue Delano CA 93215 661-720-2228
Kern County Clerk 1115 Truxtun Avenue Bakersfield CA 93301 661-868-3590
Kern County Health Department 250 West Ridgecrest Boulevard Ridgecrest CA 93555 760-384-5838
Kern County Health Department 125 El Tejon Avenue Bakersfield CA 93308 661-868-5250
Kern County Health Department 1800 Mount Vernon Avenue Bakersfield CA 93306 661-321-3000
Kern County Health Department 315 N Lincoln St Taft CA 93268 661-763-8591
Kern County Health Department 1775 California 58 Business Mojave CA 93501 661-824-7066
Kern County Health Department 7050 Lake Isabella Boulevard Lake Isabella CA 93240 760-549-2094
Kern Delano County Health Department 455 Lexington Street Delano CA 93215 661-725-5333
Maricopa City Hall 400 California Street Maricopa CA 93252 661-769-8279
McFarland City Hall 401 West Kern Avenue McFarland CA 93250 661-792-2121
Ridgecrest City Hall 100 West California Avenue Ridgecrest CA 93555 760-499-5040
Shafter City Hall 336 Pacific Avenue Shafter CA 93263 661-746-5000
Shafter Health Department 329 Central Valley Hwy Shafter CA 93263 661-746-7562
Taft City Hall 209 East Kern Street Taft CA 93268 661-763-1222
Tehachapi City Hall 115 South Robinson Street Tehachapi CA 93561 661-822-2200
Wasco City Hall 764 E Street Wasco CA 93280 661-758-7200
Wasco Health Department 8108 8TH St Wasco CA 93280 661-758-3006
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Kern County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kern County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.