Search for Humboldt County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Humboldt County Marriage License 825 5th Street Eureka CA 95501 707-445-7593
Arcata City Clerk 736 FIRST St Arcata CA 95521 707-822-5953
Arcata City Hall 736 F Street Arcata CA 95521 707-822-5951
Blue Lake City Hall 111 Greenwood Road Blue Lake CA 95525 707-668-5655
California Health Department 908 7th St Eureka CA 95501 707-445-6212
Eureka City Hall 409 Trinity Street Eureka CA 95501 707-677-0223
Eureka City Hall 531 K Street Eureka CA 95501 707-441-4122
Ferndale City Clerk 834 MAIN St Ferndale CA 95536 707-786-4224
Ferndale City Hall 834 Main Street Ferndale CA 95536 707-786-4224
Fortuna City Hall 621 11th Street Fortuna CA 95540 707-725-7600
Humboldt County Clerk 825 5th Street Eureka CA 95501 707-445-7593
Humboldt County Health Department 77 Walnut Way Willow Creek CA 95573 530-629-2410
Humboldt County Health Department Ste 100, 100 H St Eureka CA 95501 707-445-6215
Rio Dell City Hall 675 Wildwood Avenue Rio Dell CA 95562 707-764-3532
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Humboldt County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Humboldt County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.