El Dorado County Marriage Licenses

Search for El Dorado County CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


El Dorado County Marriage License Recorder-Clerk ( Placerville ), 360 Fair Lane Placerville CA 95667 530-621-5490


El Dorado County Marriage License Recorder-Clerk ( So. Lake Tahoe ), 3368 Lake Tahoe Blvd. #108 South Lake Tahoe CA 96150 530-573-3407

California State Health Department 1081 Lyons Avenue South Lake Tahoe CA 96150 530-541-2408

El Dorado County Clerk 360 Fair Lane Placerville CA 95667 530-621-5490

El Dorado County Clerk 3368 Lake Tahoe Boulevard South Lake Tahoe CA 96150 530-573-3409

El Dorado County Health Department 929 Spring Street Placerville CA 95667 530-621-6128

El Dorado County Health Department 7141 Silva Valley Parkway El Dorado Hills CA 95762 530-676-2490

Placerville City Hall 3101 Center Street Placerville CA 95667 530-642-5531

Placerville Town Hall 549 Main Street Placerville CA 95667 530-642-5232

South Lake Tahoe City Clerk 1052 Tata Lane South Lake Tahoe CA 96150 530-542-6004

South Lake Tahoe City Hall 1901 Airport Road South Lake Tahoe CA 96150 530-542-6000

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence

3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties

13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about El Dorado County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.

How do I get a marriage license in El Dorado County, California?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?

A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.

How old do you have to be to get married in El Dorado County?

You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.