Search for Contra Costa County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Contra Costa County Marriage License 555 Escobar Street Martinez CA 94553 925-335-7900
Antioch City Clerk 200 H Street Antioch CA 94509 925-779-7007
Antioch City Hall 200 H Street Antioch CA 94509 925-779-7011
Brentwood Clerk 708 3rd Street Brentwood CA 94513 925-516-5440
California State Health Department 850 Marina Bay Parkway Richmond CA 94804 510-412-1502
Clayton City Hall 6000 Heritage Trail Clayton CA 94517 925-673-7300
Concord City Hall 1950 Parkside Drive Concord CA 94519 925-671-3425
Contra Costa Clerk 100 South 37th Street Richmond CA 94804 510-374-3241
Contra Costa County Clerk 555 Escobar Street Martinez CA 94553 925-335-7800
Contra Costa County Health Department 597 Center Avenue Martinez CA 94553 925-313-6712
Contra Costa County Health Department 100 South 39th Street Richmond CA 94804 510-231-8555
Contra Costa Health Department 2355 Stanwell Circle Concord CA 94520 925-646-5275
El Cerrito City Hall 10890 San Pablo Ave El Cerrito CA 94530 510-215-4300
Hercules City Clerk 111 Civic Drive Hercules CA 94547 510-799-8215
Hercules City Hall 111 Civic Drive Hercules CA 94547 510-799-8200
Lafayette City Hall 3675 Mount Diablo Boulevard Lafayette CA 94549 925-284-1968
Martinez City Hall 525 Henrietta St Martinez CA 94553 925-372-3500
Oakley City Clerk 3231 Main Street Oakley CA 94561 925-625-7000
Oakley City Hall 3231 Main Street Oakley CA 94561 925-625-7017
Orinda City Hall 22 Orinda Way Orinda CA 94563 925-253-4220
Pinole City Clerk 2131 Pear St Pinole CA 94564 510-724-8928
Pinole City Hall 2131 Pear Street Pinole CA 94564 510-724-8928
Pleasant Hill City Clerk 100 Gregory Lane Pleasant Hill CA 94523 925-671-5237
Pleasant Hill City Hall 100 Gregory Ln Pleasant Hill CA 94523 925-671-5270
Richmond City Clerk 450 Civic Center Plaza Richmond CA 94804 510-620-6513
Richmond City Hall 450 Civic Center Plaza Richmond CA 94804 510-620-6513
San Pablo City Clerk 1 Alvarado Street San Pablo CA 94806 510-215-3005
San Pablo City Hall 13831 San Pablo Avenue San Pablo CA 94806 510-215-3000
Walnut Creek City Hall 1666 North Main Street Walnut Creek CA 94596 925-943-5800
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Contra Costa County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Contra Costa County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.