Search for Butte County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Butte County Marriage License 25 County Center Drive Oroville CA 95965 530-538-7691
Biggs City Hall 465 C Street Biggs CA 95901 530-868-5493
Butte County Clerk 25 County Center Drive Oroville CA 95965 530-538-7761
Butte County Health Department 695 Oleander Avenue Chico CA 95926 530-891-2731
Butte County Health Department 88 Table Mountain Boulevard Oroville CA 95965 530-538-2158
California State Health Department 126 Mission Ranch Boulevard Chico CA 95926 530-895-6711
Chico City Hall 411 Main Street Chico CA 95928 530-896-7200
Gridley City Hall 685 Kentucky Street Gridley CA 95948 530-846-5695
Oroville City Hall 1735 Montgomery Street Oroville CA 95965 530-538-2407
Paradise Town Hall 5555 Skyway Paradise CA 95969 530-872-6286
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Butte County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Butte County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.