Search for Alameda County, CA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Alameda County Marriage License 1106 Madison Street Oakland CA 94607 888-280-7708
Alameda City Hall 2263 Santa Clara Avenue Alameda CA 94501 510-747-7400
Alameda Clerk 2500 Fairmont Drive San Leandro CA 94578 510-618-1100
Alameda County Clerk 1106 Madison Street Oakland CA 94607 510-272-6362
Alameda County Health Department East Oakland CA 94601 510-595-6312
Albany City Clerk 1000 San Pablo Avenue Albany CA 94706 510-528-5710
Albany City Hall 1000 San Pablo Avenue Albany CA 94706 510-528-5710
Berkeley City Hall 2180 Milvia Street Berkeley CA 94704 510-981-2489
Berkeley Health Department 3282 Adeline Street Berkeley CA 94703 510-981-5280
California State Clerk 1648 Graff Court San Leandro CA 94577 510-553-0401
California State Health Department 1625 Shattuck Avenue Berkeley CA 94709 800-554-0352
Dublin City Clerk 100 Civic Plaza Dublin CA 94568 925-833-6650
Dublin City Hall 100 Civic Plaza Dublin CA 94568 925-833-6600
Emeryville City Clerk 1333 Park Avenue Emeryville CA 94608 510-450-7800
Emeryville City Hall 1333 Park Avenue Emeryville CA 94608 510-596-4325
Fremont City Clerk 3300 Capitol Avenue Fremont CA 94538 510-284-4060
Hayward City Hall 777 B Street Hayward CA 94541 510-583-4000
Livermore City Clerk 1052 South Livermore Avenue Livermore CA 94550 925-960-4200
Livermore City Hall 1052 South Livermore Avenue Livermore CA 94550 925-960-4000
Newark City Clerk 37101 Newark Boulevard Newark CA 94560 510-578-4266
Newark City Hall 37101 Newark Boulevard Newark CA 94560 510-578-4000
Oakland City Hall 1 Frank H Ogawa Plaza Oakland CA 94612 510-444-2489
Oakland Clerk 650 4th Street Oakland CA 94607 510-893-4456
Oaktown Town Hall 1960 Mandela Parkway Oakland CA 94607 415-794-1827
Piedmont City Hall 120 Vista Avenue Piedmont CA 94611 510-420-3040
San Leandro City Hall 835 East 14th Street San Leandro CA 94577 510-577-3200
Union City Clerk 34009 Alvarado-Niles Road Union CA 94587 510-675-5348
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with parental presence
3. Cost/fees: $35-$100 (varies by county)
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and decree copy in some counties
13. Proxy Marriage: No, with an exception for active duty military stationed abroad
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in California, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. California also permits confidential marriages, if the couple lives together at the time of the application and provides photo identification. Confidential marriage information is available to the public only by court order. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and the officiant must return it to the issuing Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Alameda County, California?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for the marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, valid photo identifications, and pay a fee. Certain counties require a birth certificate.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in California?
A marriage license can cost between $35 and $100, depending on the county. The preferred payment method is cash, but many counties process payments by alternative methods.
How old do you have to be to get married in Alameda County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in California. Individuals younger than 18 can get married with parental consent and a court order.